Short Description
Short Description It is located in a public garden, nearby Gotse Delchev square in the town center, in the former Varosha neighborhood. Although impressive in size, it remains barely noticeable, hidden under the crowns of numerous trees.
Around 1830, the population of Nevrokop obtained permission for the construction of a new church. And the church’s construction was initiated in 1833, however it was further suspended because of a plague epidemic that struck the town. The temple was consecrated in 1838; yet the finishing works did not end until 1841.
The temple is a three-nave pseudo-basilica with an apse oriented to the east. The open gallery in the southwest corner was reconstructed into a chapel. The building is made of stones and bricks in successive layers. Components of the old church (capitals and columns) were integrated in the structure.
At the beginning of the XX century, in 1904, a belfry was attached. There are two temple bells, with a vibrant, clear sound.